The government of Lenoir City is based upon the Mayor-Alderman form of government. This form of government was established in 1907 when the City was re-incorporated into what is now known as the modern City of Lenoir City.

The City is governed by a seven member Board of Mayor and Aldermen, elected at-large and on a non-partisan basis for four-year staggered terms. Elections are held in November, the first Tuesday of the month, during even numbered years.

City Council

The current board of Mayor and Aldermen is composed of the following: Mayor: Tony R. Aikens, Council members: James Brandon, Douglas “Buddy” Hines, Bobby Johnson, Sr., Jim Shields, Eddie Simpson, and Jennifer Wampler.